The National Culture and Arts Foundation and the Taipei Fine Arts Museum co-organize the Curators’ Intensive Taipei 19 (CIT 19) this year. As a platform established by the ARTWAVE─Taiwan International Arts Network and programmed by TheCube Project Space, the CIT19 accentuates the discussion and contemplation on the profession of contemporary curating. It proceeds in a two-pronged fashion; to wit, international conference and workshops, insofar as to echo the diversification of contemporary curatorial approaches, forge a congenial platform for international dialogue and exchange, build up a strong network of art practitioners from the four corners of the world, and get the curatorial education into a state of greater profoundness.

Art practitioners/curators from Taiwan and abroad are invited to lead the workshops, in which the participants can learn, cogitate and put their ideas into practice through the group interaction and pluralistic dialogue that these workshops afford. These workshops are hosted by the Museum of National Taipei University of Education and co-programmed by the Master’s Program in Critical and Curatorial Studies of Contemporary Art, National Taipei University of Education.

Contemporary Curating Rethink: In the Context of Asia and Beyond is the theme that runs through the three-day international conference scheduled to take place from 11 to 13 October 2019. In the 20 years’ root-taking and thriving development of the curatorial studies in Taiwan, the National Culture and Arts Foundation and the Taipei Fine Arts Museum have taken a bellwether role in vigorously supporting and incubating the diverse developments of curatorial experimentation in Taiwan. On this solid basis, the conference organizers will endeavor to fulfill multiple tasks such as the construction of Taiwan’s curatorial history and the pursuit of knowledge about curating.

Starting from regional cultures and historical background, the CIT19 not only explores the history and methodology of curating as well as the role and responsibility of a curator within the Asian context, but also stimulates reflections on how “curating,” while simultaneously in researchful, exhibitional and pedagogical roles, can lay out brand new contexts as effective as creative in face of the trends towards cross-cultural fusion and exhibition-based educational turn.

News

Workshop

「當代策展的新挑戰──國際論壇暨青年策展工作坊」(Curators’ Intensive Taipei 19: International Conference and Workshops)由國家文化藝術基金會「ARTWAVE─台灣國際藝術網絡平台」所推動,並由國家文化藝術基金會與臺北市立美術館總主辦、立方計劃空間策劃。聚焦於當代藝術策展專業,將透過國際論壇與工作坊雙軌並行的方式,對應當代策展多元化的操作方式,建立國際性對話場域、連結各地藝術專業工作者的交流網絡,並致力於策展教育的深化。

青年策展工作坊邀請台灣及國外的藝術專業人員/策展人共同協作指導,提供青年策展人學習、思辨與實踐的互動平台及多元對話場域。本工作坊活動是由北師美術館主辦,臺北教育大學當代藝術評論與策展研究全英語碩士學位學程協力策劃。

國際論壇以「當代策展的亞洲語境及其超越」(Contemporary Curating Rethink: In the Context of Asia and Beyond)為主題,邀請台灣本地及國際策展人及學者與會,為期三天。在台灣「策展學」生根茁壯的二十年間,扮演不同角色的國藝會與台北市立美術館,一直都是策展實驗與策展人培養的重要推手及前哨站,本論壇主辦將基於此基礎,進一步推動台灣展覽史與策展學知識體系的建構。

CIT19以台灣的文化內涵、地緣位置與歷史過程為輻輳重心,在亞洲脈絡下探索文化地緣關係中的策展(史)與方法學、策展人的社會職能與角色。並在跨文化融合發展及展演教育功能擴張的趨勢中,思考「策展」如何能同時在研究、展示、教習等複合角色中,鋪陳出有效力且具創造性的嶄新語境。

最新消息

工作坊